Michael Morgan wins Benbulben 5k

On a very wet course, Michael Morgan won first prize in the last race of the year in the Sligo AC Benbulben 5k.

The day started with some ominous weather, but luckily for all our 179 athletes who entered today, the rain stayed away and we had a great race to finish off the year.

Michael was nearly a minute ahead of fellow clubmate Matthew McMeekin. Michael took the victory in 14:51.

Michael Morgan winner of Benbulben 5k

Matthew McMeekin from Sligo AC came in second place in a time of 15:37

Francis ODonoghue rounded out the podium with a time of 15:55

In the junior category, Lucas Lyons won in a time of 16:02

Heather Foley from Sligo AC finished a fantastic year by winning the female trophy in a time of 18:13.

Sarah Kelly also from Sligo AC took 2nd female with a time of 18:52

Mari Johnston from Sligo AC rounded out the female podium with third place in a time of 18:56

Over 40 Female – Caroline Coulter

Over 40 Male – Eammon McAndrew

Over 50 Female – Trish Lee

Over 50 Male – Derek Hunter

Thank you to all the volunteers who helped run the event today.

Full results are available at Benbulben 5km 23 – Core Timing

Well done to all those who took part.

All finishing line photos are below